City of Jacksonville


Art in Public Places Committee (APPC)

Legislative Authority: Chpt 126, Pt 9, Ord Code

Total Members: 11

Committee Duties: As specified in the City of Jacksonville Ordinance Code, Chapter 126, Part 9, the Art in Public Places Committee (APPC) members are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council.  The APPC is responsible for receiving, reviewing, and acting on the recommendations of Art Selection Panels (ASP). The goal of the APPC is to choose art which is compatible with and which will enhance the architecture and general environment of the City. The APPC ensures that at least 15 percent of the artists selected for purchase or commission will be residents in the Greater Jacksonville area (the counties of Duval, St.Johns, Nassau, Clay and Baker).
 The 11-member APPC, as designated in the Art in Public Places Ordinance, includes (2) two representatives from the Cultural Council of Greater Jacksonville Board of Directors; (3) Art Professional representatives from the professions of architecture, interior design, landscape design, planning, artist professional, or art historian; and (6) six planning district representatives from the community at large, each residing within each of the City Planning Districts, whose interests, professions, and community activities reflect the diversity of the Jacksonville arts community.
​APPC members are appointed for a three-year term, and may be appointed one additional three-year term.

Meeting Dates: 2nd Wednesday of every month, 1:00 PM, Jessie Ball duPont Center located at 40 East Adams Street, Jacksonville, FL 32202.
*Meeting times and locations are subject to change. Visit the Public Art Program page on the Cultural Council of Greater Jacksonville's website for more information.

Committee Members:

Name Category
Karen Feagins Cultural Council Board Rep 1
David Faliszek Cultural Council Board Rep 2
Elizabeth Heuer Art Professional 1
Larry Wilson Art Professional 2
Ylva Rouse Art Professional 3
Elias Hionides Community Rep Planning District 1
VACANT Community Rep Planning District 2
Heather Terrill Community Rep Planning District 3
VACANT Community Rep Planning District 4
Sacha “Gigi” Ackerman Community Rep Planning District 5
Kimberly Kim Community Rep Planning District 6

To contact the Art in Public Places Committee, please contact Kat Wright, Director of Public Art Program by phone at (904) 944-3606 or by email