City of Jacksonville

Independent Boards and Agencies
Jacksonville Transportation Authority (JTA)
Legislative Authority: Chpt 349, F.S.

Total Members: 7

Committee Duties: Mayor makes 3 appointments; governor makes 3 appointments; 1 member is designated by charter. Acquire, hold, construct, improve, maintain, operate, own, and lease in the capacity of lessor the Jacksonville Expressway System (hereinafter referred to as "system"), heretofore partially constructed or acquired by the Florida State Improvement Commission in the Jacksonville, Duval County, metropolitan area and as hereafter completed or improved or extended as authorized, and all appurtenant facilities, including all approaches, streets, roads, bicycle paths, bridges, and avenues of access for the Jacksonville Expressway System, and to construct or acquire extensions, additions, and improvements to the system and to complete the construction and acquisition of the system. May acquire, hold, construct, improve, operate, maintain, and lease a mass transit system employing motor cars or buses; street railway systems beneath the surface, on the surface, or above the surface; or any other means determined useful to the rapid transfer of large numbers of people among the locations of residence, commerce, industry, and education in the City of Jacksonville. May plan, coordinate, and recommend methods and facilities for the parking of vehicles, the movement of pedestrians, and vehicular traffic (including bicycles), public and private, in the City of Jacksonville, to accomplish a coordinated transportation system for the greater Jacksonville area. May construct and operate passenger terminals for the parking of automobiles and movement by public conveyance of persons and construct and operate all other facilities necessary to a complete and coordinated transportation system in the Jacksonville area.

Meeting Date: (Meeting times and locations are subject to change.) Visit the JTA website for more information:

Committee Members:

Name Category
McCaleb, Scott Governor 01
Wallace, L. Denise Governor 02
Jolly, Ari Governor 03
Holzendorf, Kevin J. Mayor 01 - Chair
Rumlin, Isaiah - Immediate Past Chair Mayor 02
Miller, Jeanne M. Mayor 03 - Treasurer
Newby, Samuel C. City Council (Ex-Officio Non-Voting)
Smith, Katie JTA Liaison
Evans, Greg FDOT District Secretary

Contact Staff:

Name Position Phone Email
Ford, Nathaniel Executive Director (904) 630-3181