City of Jacksonville

Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee

The Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee reviews and revises city standard specificationscity standard details, and the Land Development Procedures Manual. The Committee recommends amendments to the Jacksonville Code of Ordinances and 2045 Comprehensive Plan relating to transportation, traffic engineering and roadway design, including but not limited to parking, sidewalks, bicycle and pedestrian use and transit. It also advises the appropriate Council committee(s) of its decisions.

The CSSSC is comprised of thirteen members; the Mayor and City Council President each appoint six citizen members from various occupational fields and industries. These members have staggered four-year terms. The Director of Mass Transit from the Jacksonville Transportation Authority serves as the only permanent member. The committee is supported by staff from the Public Works Engineering and Construction Management Divisionthe Planning and Development Department, and the City's ADA Coordinator.

Committee Members:

  • Allan Iosue, Chair, Landscape Architect (Mayor Appointee; 2018-0810-A) *
  • Lauren Rushing, Urban Planner (Mayor Appointee; 2024-270-A)
  • Chris Burns, Bicycle Community (Council President Appointee; 2017-433-A) *
  • Hayley Spring, Community Health/Public Health (Mayor Appointee 2024-384-A)
  • Larry Roberts, Running Advocate (Council President Appointee; 2016-445-A) *
  • Tyler Blair, Transportation Engineer (Mayor Appointee; 2023-0735-A)
  • Teresa Moore, Rural Community (Council President Appointee; 2023-0818-A)
  • Bernard Jorn, Disabled (ADA) Advocate (Council President Appointee; 2015-855-A) *
  • Christopher M. Ruen, Retail Business (Council President Appointee; 2018-734-A) *
  • Steve Tocknell, Urban Priority Area (Council President Appointee; 2018-329-A) *
  • Alexander Traversa, JTA Representative (JTA Mass Transit Direct Designee)
  • VACANT, Freight Industry/Trucking Company (Mayor Appointee) *
  • VACANT, Home-Building (Mayor Appointee) *
*We are currently accepting applications for these open and/or vacant positions as representatives for the Context Sensitive Streets Committee.  

City Council Appointments
Mayoral Appointments

For volunteer information, agendas, meeting materials, and minutes, please contact Lurise Bannister, Transportation Planning Services Manager, at or by phone at (904) 255-7839. For all other information regarding the CSSSC, please contact Matt Fall, Bicycle-Pedestrian Coordinator, at or by phone at (904) 255-7835. 


Committee Meetings

Notice is hereby given that the Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee will meet at the date/time listed below:

Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee (CSSSC) Meeting, August 2024
Thursday, August 29th, 2024
10:00 AM – 12:00 PM EST
Edward Ball Building, 3th Floor
Conference Room # 3112
214 N Hogan Street
Jacksonville, Florida 32202

Join the meeting on Microsoft Teams
Meeting ID: 254 272 390 890
Passcode: iK35N4

Members of the Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee will be in attendance at this meeting, and will discuss topics relating to the Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee.