City of Jacksonville

Public Health & Safety Committee

The Committee shall consider matters relating to the Department of Health; public health; international travel; wellness; mental health; addiction; human services; homelessness; public assistance; Public Service Grants; public safety; safety hazards and dangerous infrastructure; motor vehicle inspections; collections; crime and crime prevention; victim services; Jacksonville Journey; Sheriff's Office; police-community relations; Fire and Rescue Department; emergency preparedness and civil defenses; military bases; personnel and affairs; base realignment and closure (BRAC) issues; and all related subjects.

Committee Members

Samuel Newby - Chair

Bill Gulliford - Vice Chair
Aaron L. Bowman
Anna Lopez Brosche
Katrina Brown
Tommy Hazouri
Joyce Morgan

Committee Staff

Legislative Services Division
117 W. Duval St., Suite 430
Jacksonville, FL  32202


Under Florida law, email addresses are public records.  If you do not want your email address published, do not send electronic mail to City Council Members or staff.  Instead, contact the City Council by phone or in writing.

Agenda Meeting Location / Time

First & Third Tuesday at 8:30 a.m.
City Hall - St. James Building
1st Floor - Lynwood Roberts Room
117 W. Duval Street
Web Calendar 

Committee Charge

Committee Meeting Location / Time

First & Third Tuesday at 9:00 a.m.
City Hall - St. James Building
1st Floor - Council Chamber
117 W. Duval Street
Web Calendar

The Committee will adjourn no later than 11:15 a.m., regarding legislative matters, and reconvene immediately thereafter to consider special matters before the Committee, until no later than noon.

Committee Agendas


In Session Meetings

Please click the appropriate link below to view live streaming video of meetings, when in session, in the location listed: 


Past Meeting Archives

2017 Video Archive
2016 Video Archive
2014 Video Archive 
2013 Video Archive 
2012 Video Archive
2011 Video Archive
2010 Video Archive
2009 Video Archive