City of Jacksonville

City of Jacksonville

St James

City Council

January 01, 2016
Representation throughout the community of Jacksonville

The Jacksonville City Council is composed of nineteen members who are elected for a four-year term and serve as part-time legislators. In May of each year, the Council elects a President and Vice President to serve one-year terms beginning the first of July. The nineteen members are not all elected in the same manner; some are elected from districts, and others are elected at large.

However, once elected, there is no distinction between council members elected at-large and from regular districts. Both have equal rights and responsibilities.

The city of Jacksonville is divided into 14 districts; each of these districts elects a single council member who resides in the district. Like virtually all legislative districts at all levels in United States, these districts are redrawn every ten years following the decennial census. Duval county is divided into five special "at-large" districts unrelated to any other districts, solely for the purpose of providing better representation for all geographical areas of Jacksonville.

Standing Committees
Special Committees
Council Boards & Commissions
If you have questions or concerns regarding local issues, call your district council member or the Council office at (904) 630-1377. Staff there will be glad to assist you.

Additional Links: