City of Jacksonville


About the Jacksonville Human Rights Commission


Since its inception in 1967, the JHRC has worked diligently to ensure that all members of the Jacksonville community enjoy a community free of discriminatory practices.  The purpose is to:  

  • Promote and encourage fair treatment and equal opportunity for all persons regardless of race, color, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, age, disability, and marital or familial status;

  • Promote mutual understanding and respect among members of all economic, social, racial, religious and ethnic groups;

  • Eliminate discrimination against and antagonism between racial, religious and ethnic groups.  


The Jacksonville Human Rights Commission has an appointed body that consists of 11 members who broadly represent the diverse population of the City of Jacksonville. Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council for an initial term of up to three (3) years.  They may be eligible for re-appointment for a consecutive term of three years.  

Current Commissioners
  • Acevedo, Jose
  • Buyuksarac, Sel
  • Croy, Victoria
  • Farmer, Barry
  • Fortè, Allana
  • Manning, Joann 
  • Richardson, Monica
  • Timberlake, Angela
  • Williams, Andrea

Commission Meetings

Notice is hereby given that the Jacksonville Human Rights Commission will meet as follows:

Third Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise noted.
11:15 a.m. – 1:15 p.m.

For information on how to attend the meeting in-person or via Zoom, visit:

Any changes in the noticed meetings will be posted in compliance with Florida's Government-in-the-Sunshine Law.

Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act, accommodations for persons with disabilities are available upon request. Please allow 2-3 business days to process; last minute requests will be accepted, but may not be possible to fulfill. Please contact Disabled Services at VM 904-255-5475, or email your request to