City of Jacksonville


Jacksonville Environmental Protection Board Logo

Jacksonville's Environmental Protection Board Invites Residents to 2021 Environmental Excellence Awards

October 21, 2021
The Jacksonville Environmental Protection Board (JEPB) will recognize winners of the 2021 Environmental Excellence Awards on Wednesday, Nov. 17.
The awards will be presented during a luncheon from 11:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. at the Adam W. Herbert Center at the University of North Florida (12000 Alumni Dr. – 32224). Citizens are invited to attend, but tickets must be purchased in advance at:
Established in 1975, the JEPB awards program honors outstanding environmental accomplishments, in several categories. The luncheon is an opportunity to recognize individuals and groups who have a long-term commitment to the protection and preservation of the environment.
The awards to be presented include:
  • 2021 Charles E. Bennett Champion of the Environment Award
    • Dr. Lucinda B. Sonnenberg, Ph.D. – for longtime commitment to advocacy, education and research around environmental issues in Duval County, especially the St. Johns River.
  • 2021 Christi P. Veleta Environmental Award
    • Anna Dooley – for long time commitment to environmental education and outreach along with the protection and preservation of natural resources.
  • Individual
    • Sean Lahav – for significant impact on the Jacksonville community through a wide array of exceptional achievements specifically related to the natural environment. 
    • Brooks Andrews – for leadership in efforts to increase community awareness of issues associated around resiliency.
    • Dr. Joshua Gellers - for impacts both inside the classroom and out in the community in terms of generating environmental awareness, influencing local environmental policy, and helping to safeguard the community from environmental injustices.
  • Government/Institutional
    • City of Atlantic Beach – for leadership of the municipal government and dedication of its citizens in protecting their rich environmental heritage and addressing the pressing challenges of climate change.
    • SJRWMD Blue Schools Grant Program – for significant efforts to increase the need for greater opportunities for middle and high school students to gain experiences in how to protect Florida’s water resources.
    • Beaches Go Green – for their efforts to spread awareness and education around the issue of waste and its impact on the environment.
    • Riverfront Parks Now – for their efforts to engage and activate citizens around a comprehensive plan for riverfront development which stresses resiliency while maximizing public access and supporting private development.
  • Business
    • Coke Florida – for commitment to sustainability and efforts to reduce their environmental impact within their business, their customers and consumers and the communities they serve.
  • Environmental Award of Merit
    • Dr. Gerry Pinto – for significant impact to the Jacksonville community as a scientist, educator and advocate.
Please visit the EPB Awards website for more information on the 2021 winners and awards.