City of Jacksonville


Mayor Lenny Curry with the new Neighborhoods Department leadership team.

City Increases Focus on Needs, Services for Jacksonville Neighborhoods

March 28, 2016
Mayor Introduces Leadership for Re-established Neighborhoods Department
Mayor Lenny Curry introduced leadership for the Neighborhoods department during a news conference held this afternoon at City Hall. The introductions follow last week’s unanimous vote of approval by City Council for the mayor’s reorganization bill. The Neighborhoods department will be responsible for neighborhood and housing services, code and regulatory compliance, animal and mosquito control, and citizen issue support. 
“This is about renewing the City’s focus on ensuring that government is supporting the needs of residents in neighborhoods across our city,” said Mayor Curry. “We have a great team of well-qualified individuals that I am confident will serve the people of this city well.”

Derek Igou, former chief operating officer for the Duval County Clerk of Courts and deputy chief administrative officer for the City, will serve as director. Kim Scott, former director of the Regulatory Compliance department, will serve as operations director. Division chiefs include Diana Seydlorsky, Housing and Community Development; Bryan Mosier, Municipal Code Compliance; Melissa Long, Environmental Quality; John Shellhorn, Mosquito Control and James Crosby, Animal Care and Protective Services. Monica Cichowlas remains in her position as manager of 630-CITY, the City’s customer service center. Additionally, Chief Derrick Lewis from the Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office will serve as a law enforcement liaison, further demonstrating the City’s commitment to public safety.
The approved reorganization legislation (2016-140) also eliminates the Intragovernmental Services department, moving the Procurement, Information Technology and Fleet Management divisions and the offices of Grant and Contract Compliance, Ombudsman, and Equal Business Opportunity under the renamed Finance and Administration department. The bill also created the Office of the Blight Initiative, and two new positions: philanthropic officer, and data management and analysis officer.