
Note: Disclosure of your social security number is 

mandatory. It is required by section 196.011(1),  

Florida Statutes. The social security number will be 

used to verify taxpayer information and homestead 

exemption information submitted to property           

appraisers . 
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Duval County, Florida 
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Veterans Exemptions  
Learn how to reduce property 

taxes on your home  

 
 

 

 

 
Surviving Spouse of a Totally and Permanently 
Disabled Veteran 
The surviving spouse of an honorably discharged 
veteran who had a service connected total and 
permanent disability is entitled to keep the 
exemption or transfer the exemption if already 
granted. This benefit is an exemption of up to 
100% of assessed value. 
Qualifications: 

 The surviving spouse must have been married 

to the veteran when he/she died.  

 The veteran must have been a permanent 

resident of Florida on January 1 of the year he/
she died.  

 The surviving spouse must have the legal or 

beneficial title to the property when the 
veteran died and it must be the spouse’s 

permanent residence.  

 If the spouse remarries, he/she does not 

qualify for this exemption.  

 The exemption may be transferred if the

          spouse sells or moves from the homestead 

          property and establishes a new homestead in

          Florida so long as they do not remarry. 
 

When you apply, please bring: 

 A letter from the United States Government 
or the United States Department of  Veterans
Affairs (VA) that indicates he or she is the  
surviving spouse of a veteran who had a 
total and permanent disability at the time of 
the veteran's death; and Death Certificate of 
 the veteran. 

 

For more information, to obtain forms, or file 

online for Veteran’s Exemptions 

 visit www.duvalpa.com  

or call the Customer Service/Exemptions

Compliance Division (904) 255-5900  

7:30a.m. to 5:30p.m. weekdays  

 

Surviving Spouse of a Veteran Disabled 10% or 

Greater 
The surviving spouse of a veteran who received 
the $5,000 exemption for service connected 
disability of 10% or greater is entitled to carry 
over or apply for the same exemption. A 
surviving spouse is allowed the exemption if: 
 

 The spouse was married to the veteran for at 

least 5 years at the time of death.  

 The surviving spouse has not remarried. 

 The veteran was a Florida resident at the time 
of death. 

 A Death Certificate of the veteran is provided.  

 It is NOT required that the veteran was 

granted the exemption prior to death, nor is it 
required that the veteran owned or resided on 
the property.  

 
 

Surviving Spouse of a Veteran Who Died on 

Active Duty 
Property owned and used as a homestead by the 
surviving spouse of a United States Armed Forces 
veteran who died from service connected causes 
while on active duty is exempt from taxation. The 
veteran must have been a permanent resident 
of Florida on January 1 of the year in which he 
or she died. 
The surviving spouse must reside on and hold 
legal or beneficial title  to the property and not 
remarry. If the surviving spouse sells or moves 
from the property, the exemption may be 
transferred to the new residence if it is the 
spouse's primary residence and he or she does 
not remarry. 

When you apply, please bring: 
A letter from the US Government or the Dept. of 

Veteran’s Affairs certifying the veteran died from 

service connected causes while on active duty: 

and a Marriage Certificate; and Death Certificate 

from the branch of service; and proof of Florida  

residency for the veteran.  

 

 

Exemptions for Spouses of Veterans  

Additional Information 
The exemptions in this brochure are available only 

to Florida permanent and legal residents. With one 

exception, only homestead property qualifies, and 

all requirements for homestead exemption must 

be met. Exemption for a veteran disabled 10% or 

greater does not have the homestead require-

ment, and has  a statutory cap on the amount 

granted. These exemptions are applied in addition 

to the homestead exemption. 

 

Other Property Tax Exemptions  
Homestead, Widow/Widower, Low Income Senior, 

100% Total and Permanent Disability 

Exemption for Blind Persons 

First Responders or Surviving Spouse 



Exemption for Deployed 
Service members 

 

This is an additional homestead property tax 
exemption for members of the active duty 
military or military reserves, the United 
States Coast Guard or its reserves, or the  
Florida National Guard. It is based upon the 
number of days in the previous calendar 
year that the person was deployed on active 
duty in support of specified operations. 
The Exemption for Deployed Military is 
different from 
other exemptions 
because there is 
no set dollar 
amount to be  
exempted.  
Rather, a 
prorated percentage will be exempt based 
on the amount of time the service member 
was deployed during the previous year. 

 
 
Who is Eligible? 

Service members who currently receive  

homestead exemption and were deployed    

during the previous year on active duty      

outside the US, Alaska or Hawaii and served 

in operations designated by the Florida     

Legislature.  

 

When you apply, please bring: 
 Deployment Orders for active 

duty;  

 Your travel voucher showing 

dates of  

      Deployment 

 

This exemption does not renew and must be 

applied for annually. There is no surviving 

spouse carry over benefit  

Veterans Confined to a Wheelchair 
    
 

The homestead property of an honorably 
discharged veteran who has a service 
connected total (but not necessarily 
permanent) disability is exempt from taxes. 
There are no income limitations to qualify 
for this exemption. 
 

Qualifications: 
Required to use a 

wheelchair for 

mobility; and receives 

financial assistance 

due to a disability that 

requires specially 

adapted housing. 

 

When you apply, 

please bring: 

A letter from the United States Government or 

the United States Department of Veteran‘s 

Affairs attesting to the disability.  

 

This benefit can carry over to a surviving 

spouse. 

 

 

 

Qualifications for the Surviving Spouse: 
Surviving spouse must hold title as estate by 
entireties; and surviving spouse must continue 
to reside on the property for the benefit to 
carry over; and if the spouse remarries, sells 
or moves from the property, he or she does 
not qualify or no longer qualifies if the 
exemption is already granted. 
 

 

 

 

 

This document is intended to provide 

information about veterans/spouse of veteran 

exemptions. It does not constitute legal advice 

or a comprehensive review of exemption law. 

Disabled Veterans 10% or Greater  
    
 

A $5,000 exemption is available on property 

owned by an honorably discharged veteran 

with a service connected disability of 10% or 

greater who is a permanent and legal resident 

of Florida. 

 

When you apply, please bring: 
 
A letter from the United States Government or 

the United States Veterans Affairs indicating 

that the applicant is an honorably discharged 

veteran with a service connected disability of 

10% or greater. 

 

A surviving spouse carry over benefit is 

available. Please see the Surviving Spouse 

section of this brochure for details. 

 

Total and Permanent Service Connected 
Disability  
An honorably discharged veteran who has a 

service-connected total and permanent 

disability is exempt from paying property tax 

on property owned by the veteran and used as 

a homestead.   

There are no income limitations to qualify for 
this exemption. 
When you apply, please bring: 

 

A letter of disability from the United States 

Government or the United States Veterans 

Affairs indicating that the applicant is an 

honorably discharged veteran with a total and 

permanent service-connected disability with 

the effective date on or before January 1 of 

the year of application.  

 

 

A surviving spouse carry over benefit is 
available. Please see the Surviving 
Spouse section of this brochure for 
details. 

Veterans Age 65 and Older with a 
Combat Related Disability  

 
 This benefit provides a percentage discount 
in property taxes equal to the percentage of 
an honorably discharged veteran's partial or 
total permanent service related disability. 
 

QuaIifications: 
Currently has a Homestead Exemption; and 
65 or older as of January 1; and 
Has a partial or total permanent combat 
related disability. 
 

When you apply, please bring: 
Proof of age; and certification of honorable 
discharge,  
A copy of your most current rating decision 
from the Veterans Administration, including 
evidence that your disability is combat 
related. 

There is no surviving spouse carry over 
benefit. 
 
   
 

If you qualify for: 

 Veterans Disabled 10% or  

      Greater 

 Total and Permanent   

      Service-Connected Disability 

 Veterans Age 65 and Older 

with a Combat Related    

Disability 

Apply Now! 

You may apply before receiving 

the necessary documentation 

from the U.S. Department of  

Veterans Affairs. Upon receipt of 

the documentation, the exemp-

tion will be granted as of the date 

of the original application. The 

excess taxes paid will be        

refunded. Refunds of excess   

taxes paid are subject to a          

4-year period of limitation. 

of limitation. 
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