
January 1 
The date which determines property ownership, 

value, exemptions and permanent residency. 

January – March 1 
Applications accepted for portability and exemptions      

including: 

• homestead 

• low-income senior citizens 

• widows/widowers 

• disability 

• institutional/non-profit organizations 

• granny flat reduction 

Applications accepted for the Agricultural          

Classification 

 

Contact our office for information on filing 

late for exemptions after March 1. 

August (date varies) 
Notices of Proposed Property Taxes, also 

called Truth in Millage (TRIM) notices, are mailed  

to property owners mid-month.  

September (date varies) 
Deadline for filing formal petition with the Value   

Adjustment Board and late file exemptions  

(25 days  after TRIM Notice mailing)  

October 
Value Adjustment Board (VAB) hearings begin. 

November 
Tax Collector mails property tax bills by November 

1st.  

 

Is your mailing address correct? 
It is a property owner’s legal responsibility to pay    

   property taxes regardless of whether or not he/   

  she receives a Notice of Proposed Property Taxes  

  or a tax bill. It is also the property owner’s          

   responsibility  to notify the Property Appraiser of  

 a change in mailing address. It is important that   

   the county’s records are current to ensure that 

you receive all notices and bills. 

Change of address forms are available at 

www.duvalpa.com or call (904) 255-5900  

For more information. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Joyce Morgan 

Property Appraiser 

Duval County, 

Florida 

231 East Forsyth Street, Suite 260 

Jacksonville, Florida 32202 

 

 

 

 

 

For more information, to obtain forms, or 

file online for Homestead Exemption 

 visit www.duvalpa.com  

or call the Customer Service/Exemptions      

Compliance Division (904) 255-5900  

7:30a.m. to 5:30p.m. weekdays  
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Duval County, Florida 

Office of the Property  

Appraiser 

Homestead Exemption  
Learn how to reduce property 

taxes on your home  



Homestead Exemption 

Reduces Home’s Value for Taxation 

The Homestead Exemption reduces the assessed 

value on which a home is taxed up to $50,000. 

It includes: 

• an initial $25,000 exemption; and 

• an additional exemption (up to $25,000) off        

assessed value over $50,000 

The additional exemption does not apply to the 

school tax levy. 

Who is Eligible? 

• permanent Florida residents 

• homeowners who own and live in the home on    

January 1 

 

The deadline to timely file is March 1. 

 

“Save Our Homes” 

Caps Increases on Homesteaded Property 

Once a home receives a homestead exemption, the                  

property’s assessed value cannot increase more 

than 3% a year (unless there are changes to the  

property) – despite the movement of the actual 

market value. This is due to a Florida law  called 

“Save Our Homes” (SOH). The annual increase is 

based on the change in the National Consumer Price 

Index. Once a home is sold, the SOH limitation is 

removed and the assessed value becomes equal to 

the market value, unless the new owners have  

Portability. 

Portability 

Transfers Savings from Old to New Home 

Portability allows previously homesteaded property 

owners in Florida to transfer, or “port,” a portion or 

all of the “Save Our Homes” benefit (difference be-

tween the market and assessed values of the old 

home) from their previous home to their new home. 

Portability can save you money on your 

taxes by lowering the assessed value of a new 

homestead property. The amount is either trans-

ferred in its entirely or as a percentage depending 

on the value of the new home. 

Property owners may not port more than 

$500,000. While a property owner may file 

for portability in later years, the homestead            

exemption on the new property must be            

established within three years of January 1 

of the year you abandoned the previous  

homestead (not two years after the sale). 

The annual tax roll is based on ownership 

and  property values as of January 1. 

Other Available Exemptions 

•  widows/widowers 

•  disabled persons 

•  low-income senior citizens 

•  disabled veterans 

•  renovations to certain historic structures 

•  institutional/Non-profit organizations and   

    more 

 

Do I file each year for homestead exemption? 

No. Once you file for a homestead exemption, 

it is renewed annually unless there are changes 

in ownership or changes to the property. Each 

year, you will receive a renewal receipt. 

When a home is sold, does the homestead 

exemption remain intact? 

No. The homestead exemption is removed 

based on an ownership change on Jan.1. 

New homeowners must apply for homestead 

exemption. When a home is bought after Jan.1, 

the new homeowner benefits that year from the  

prior owner’s exemption, but it’s removed the  

following year based on new ownership. 

As a member of the Armed Forces, can I keep my   

homestead exemption and rent my home while 

I’m away? 

Yes. As a member of the Armed Forces, Florida 

law allows you to rent your residence and keep 

your homestead exemption if you are transferred 

out of the county. You must provide the Property 

Appraiser’s Office with a copy of your military orders 

and a current mailing address. 

Does a property owner lose the homestead 

exemption due to marriage, divorce, death of a 

spouse or the addition of a natural dependent? 

Not necessarily. However, a homestead 

exemption application is necessary to update 

records and ensure eligibility. For more 

information call (904) 255-5900. 

When a husband and a wife add their child to the 

deed of their homestead property, does the 

homestead automatically carry over to the child 

upon their deaths? 

No, the homestead must be reapplied for by 

March 1st of the year following the death of the 

last surviving  parent in order for it to apply to the 

surviving child.  

If I receive a homestead renewal card in the 

name of my deceased parents, does that mean 

the homestead exemption remains on the     

property?  No. You must own the property and 

make application in your own name in order to 

receive an exemption on the property.  

Visit www.duvalpa.com for more information  

File Online for Homestead Exemption at www.duvalpa.com 

Frequently Asked Questions 


