
January 1 
The date which determines property ownership,    

value, classification, and exemptions. 

Tangible Personal Property returns mailed to         

taxpayers. 

 

January 1 – March 1 

Applications accepted for exemptions including:  

Religious, Charitable, Literary, Scientific, Educational 

Institutions, Hospitals and Nursing Homes or Homes 

for the Aged.  

Applications accepted for greenbelt classifications. 

 

April 1 
Filing deadline for Tangible Personal Property returns. 

 

August (date varies) 

Notices of Proposed Property Taxes, also called Truth 

in Millage (TRIM) notices,  

are mailed to property owners.  

 

September (date varies) 

Deadline for filing formal petition with the Value Ad-

justment Board and late file exemptions (25 days af-

ter TRIM Notice mailing). 

 

October 
Value Adjustment Board (VAB) hearings begin. 

 

November 

Tax Collector mails property tax bills by Nov 1st.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Joyce Morgan 
Property Appraiser 

Duval County, 
Florida 

231 East Forsyth Street, Suite 260 
Jacksonville, Florida 32202 

 

 

 

 

For more information or to obtain forms, 

visit www.duvalpa.com 

or call the Customer Service/Exemptions 

Compliance Division (904) 255-5900 

7:30a.m.—5:30p.m. weekdays 

 

Tangible Personal Property Division  

(904)255-5903 
      

 

 

 

 

 

 
                           

Duval County, Florida 

Office of the Property 

Appraiser 

Institutional/Non-Profit 

Exemptions 



Who is Eligible? 
State law provides Florida non-profit organizations with 
opportunities for property tax relief through a number 
of property tax exemptions. (Florida Statutes 196.195, 
196.1978, 196.196, 196.197, 196.2001, 196.2002) 
 
Exemptions are available, but not limited to, the        
following: 
 

• Religious, Charitable, Literary, Scientific or                             
       Educational  
       Non-Profit Organizations 

• Affordable Housing 

• Hospitals and Nursing Homes (non-profit) 

• Educational Childcare – Gold Seal Quality Status 
 
If the property is used solely for the intended non-
profit status, the owner may be eligible for a total ex-
emption from property taxes. However, only portions 
of the property used for the non-profit purpose are 
eligible for exemption. Portions of the property not 
actively used for the exempt use are considered        
taxable. 

How to Apply 
Property owners of a non-profit organization who 
owned property as of January 1, should apply for      
exemptions by March 1. Late applications may be    
submitted after March 1 and up to 25 days after the 
mailing of the Notices of Proposed Property Taxes (in 
mid-August). The petition and late fee must be filed 
with the Value Adjustment Board. 
 
A number of documents are required such as the         
recorded deed, copy of 501(c)(3) forms, by-laws,         
licenses and other documents specific to the type of 
non-profit. For requirements, contact the Customer 
Service/Exemptions Compliance Division at 231 East 
Forsyth Street, Suite 260, Jacksonville, Florida 32202, 
(904) 255-5900. Forms and information are also          
available on the Property Appraiser’s Web site at 
www.duvalpa.com 

Key Points to Remember 
 
• Exemptions are not addressed at a sale closing.   

Property owners must apply for exemptions. 
 
 
• All Property owned by an entity, including         

educational institutions , and used predominantly 
for exempt purposes shall be exempted from ad 
valorem taxation to the extent of the ratio that 
such predominant use bears to the nonexempt 
use. “Predominant use of the property” means 
the use of the property for exempt purposes is in 
excess of 50% but less than exclusive.  

 
• Non-profits with a non-profit exemption must 

apply for an exemption on any additional      
property acquired. The additional property must 
meet the same requirements as the exempt      
property and be used for the specified non-profit 
use. 

 
• If a church or other non-profit entity changes its 

name, the property owner must reapply for the 
non-profit exemption under the new name. 

• Exemptions are based on ownership and           
predominate use  as of January 1. 

 

Tangible Personal Property 
Any non-profit organization that owns assets used 

to conduct business (such as computers, office  

furniture, etc.) must file a Tangible Personal          

Property return each year. (There is an exception 

for churches that own their building and land.) 

An exemption for Tangible Personal Property may 

also be granted to eligible non-profit organizations, 

however, property owners must apply separately 

for the Tangible Personal Property Exemption. An 

exemption on real property does not apply to        

Tangible Property.   

 

Once the exemption is granted, property owners 

will continue to receive and are required to return 

a Tangible Personal Property return each year 

listing all assets.   

 

For more information regarding Tangible             

Personal Property, contact 904-255-5903. 


