## CITY OF JACKSONVILLE

J.J. DIXON CHAIR



ERICH FREIBERGER
VICE CHAIR

ROBYN BLANK SUNNY GETTINGER LATONYA LIPSCOMB SMITH WILLIAM MAULE JUDGE LINDA MCCALLUM LEAH PALESTRANT SCOTT SIMPSON

# ETHICS COMMISSION NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

City Hall, First Floor, Lynwood Roberts Room Monday, November 18, 2024

The meeting was called to order at 3:16 p.m. by Mr. Simpson. Nominating Committee attendees: Chair Scott Simpson, LaTonya Lipscomb Smith and JJ Dixon.

Others in attendance: Kirby Oberdorfer, Director of the Office of Ethics, Compliance and Oversight (OECO); Paige Johnston, Ethics Attorney (OECO); Sandy Homrighouse, Executive Assistant (OECO); and Dylan Reingold, Office of General Counsel (OGC).

Public In Attendance: John Nooney, Sean Mulholland, Robyn Blank, Erich Freiberger and William Maule. Ms. Blank, Dr. Freiberger and Mr. Maule were officer candidates and attended for their interviews at their associated time.

## Confirmation of Quorum:

Mr. Simpson confirmed quorum.

#### Review of Process and Potential Questions for Officer Candidates:

The Nominating Committee reviewed and discussed the list of proposed questions for the candidates and subsequently selected the questions.

#### Consideration of Members for 2025 Ethics Commission Officer Position:

After its discussion, the Nominating Committee interviewed the following candidates, listed in order of their designated interview times: (1) Robyn Blank; (2) Erich Freiberger; (3) William Maule.

Upon completion of the applicant interviews, Mr. Simpson requested public participation regarding the nominations. Mr. Nooney offered public participation.

The Nominating Committee discussed all the candidates. Following the discussion, Ms. Smith made a motion to recommend that the Ethics Commission appoint Erich Freiberger for the 2025

chair position on the Ethics Commission. Ms. Dixon seconded the motion. No public participation was given. With no further discussion, the motion passed with a vote of 3-0.

Next, Ms. Smith made a motion to recommend that the Ethics Commission appoint William Maule for the 2025 vice chair position on the Ethics Commission. Ms. Dixon seconded the motion. No public participation was given. With no further discussion, the motion passed with a vote of 3-0.

## **Public Comment:**

Mr. Simpson asked for public comment. There was	s none.
Announcements:	
None.	
The Chair adjourned the meeting at 3:50 p.m.	
Sandy Howrighouse	5-13-25

Sandy Homrighouse, Executive Assistant, OECO

This is a summary of the meeting and not a verbatim transcription. A recording of these proceedings is available at <a href="http://www.coj.net/departments/ethics-office/notices,-agendas-minutes">http://www.coj.net/departments/ethics-office/notices,-agendas-minutes</a>.

Date of Approval