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DEPENDENT ELIGIBILITY GUIDELINES

GROUP HEALTH INSURANCE

1. Dependent Coverage for Group Health Insurance may continue until their 26"
birthday The City’s health plan will allow all legal dependents of employees who are
enrolled in the City’s health insurance plan, medical coverage to the age 26, without
requirements for home residency, state residency, student status, marital status, or other
medical coverage offered through their employer.

2. Dependent Coverage for Group Health Insurance Ages 26-30

The State of Florida Senate Bill 2634 created legislation giving eligible dependents the
option to continue their dependent coverage to the end of the calendar year in which
they reach age 30. This law only applies to group health insurance.

Dependent age 26 — 30 must meet the below eligibility guidelines for dependent(s) to
continue health coverage.

To be eligible, the parent(s) of the over-age dependent must be actively covered
under a Florida issued group plan health contract. Eligible dependents must be the
insured’s child (by blood or by law) and must meet the following criteria:

e isless than 30 years of age

e is unmarried; and

¢ has no dependents of his/her own (i.e., children); and

e is not provided coverage or covered under any other group or individual benefit
plan; and

e is not entitled to benefits under Title XVIII of the Social Security Act; and

e is aresident of Florida or is a full or part-time student

NOTE: If a covered dependent child who has reached their 26th birthday and should obtain a
dependent of their own (e.g., through birth or adoption) such newborn child will not be
eligible for this coverage and the covered dependent child will also lose his or her
eligibility for this coverage. It is your sole responsibility as the covered plan participant
to establish that a child meets the eligibility rules. Eligibility will terminate at the end of
the calendar month in which the child no longer meets the eligibility rules required to
be an eligible dependent.

3. Coverage for Disabled Child
If an unmarried enrolled dependent child with a mental or physical disability reaches an
age when coverage would otherwise end, the Plan will continue to cover the child, as
long as:
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5.

e The child is unable to be self-supporting due to a mental or physical handicap
or disability,
e The child depends mainly on you for support,
¢ You provide to the Plan proof of the child’s incapacity and dependency within
31 days of when the date of coverage would have otherwise ended because
the child reached a certain age; and
¢ You provide proof, upon the Plan’s request, that the child continues to meet
these conditions.
The proof might include medical examinations at the City’s expense. However, you will
not be asked for this information more than once a year. If you do not supply such proof
within 31 days, the Plan will no longer pay Benefits for that child. Coverage will continue
if the enrolled Dependent is incapacitated and dependent upon you, unless coverage is
otherwise terminated in accordance with the terms of the Plan.

Legal Spouse of the Employee

An original Certified Marriage Certificate and Social Security card must be provided to
enroll a spouse in benefits.

Grandchildren

e The State of Florida Statute 627.6575 allows a grandparent to cover the newborn
child of a covered dependent for eighteen months or until the dependent reaches the
age of 26

e The grandchild must be added to the health coverage from date of birth

e Coverage for newborn child "grandchild” will automatically terminate 18 months
from the date of birth

DENTAL AND VISION INSURANCE

1.

Dependent coverage may continue until the end of the year in which the
dependent child turns 25 years old; your natural child, adopted child, stepchild, foster
child, or a child for whom you are the legally appointed guardian and who is supported
by and living with you.

Legal Spouse of the Employee

An original Certified Marriage Certificate and Social Security card must be provided to
enroll a spouse in benefits.

Coverage for a Disabled Child
If an unmarried enrolled dependent child with a mental or physical disability reaches an
age when coverage would otherwise end, the Plan will continue to cover the child, as
long as:
e The child is unable to be self-supporting due to a mental or physical handicap
or disability,
e The child depends mainly on you for support,
¢ You provide to the Plan proof of the child’s incapacity and dependency within
31 days of when the date of coverage would have otherwise ended because
the child reached a certain age; and
e You provide proof, upon the Plan’s request, that the child continues to meet
these conditions.



The proof might include medical examinations at the City’s expense. However, you will
not be asked for this information more than once a year. If you do not supply such proof
within 31 days, the Plan will no longer pay benefits for that child. Coverage will continue
if the enrolled Dependent is incapacitated and dependent upon you unless coverage is
otherwise terminated in accordance with the terms of the Plan.

DEPENDENT LIFE INSURANCE ELIGIBILITY GUIDELINES

1. Eligibility
All active employees classified as full-time working 30+ hours er week are eligible for
dependent life insurance to include a spouse and dependent children from live birth until
the end of the month they turn 26 years old.

2. Dependent Life Insurance — Two Enrollment Options

Spouse (*EOI Required) Dependent Children (*EOI NOT Required)
Option 1: $10,000 Option 1: $5,000 Live birth to age 26
Option 2:  $20,000 Option 2:  $10,000 Live birth to age 26

3. Supplemental Coverage - *EOI Required to increase Supplemental Coverage
Please refer to your certificate of Coverage - Supplemental Coverage benefits are based
according to Bargaining Unit

4. *Evidence of Insurability (EOI) form available on Benefits Website
(www.Jacksonville.gov/Benefits )
e EOI required for Spouse applying for Dependent Life coverage
Complete EOI
Submit to The Standard Life Insurance Company for approval
Notification of approval or denial will be mailed to employee’s home address
Benefits Office will be notified of approval/denial, no explanation listed
If approved, dependent life deduction will begin the following pay period

NOTE:
e A dependent child cannot be covered as a dependent of more than one
employee
¢ No individual may be covered as an employee and dependent spouse
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